About College

Dr. Padiar Memorial Homoeopathic Medical College is situated on a hillock, near the famous Devi Temple at Chottanikkara and is close to Ernakulam in Kerala State. The College owes its origin to the foresight and sagacity of two eminent Homoeo Doctors - Dr. Sreenivasa Padiar and Dr. Madhava Padiar, sons of Sri. Krishna Padiar.

The seeds of this citadel of learning of Homoeopathic Medical Science was sown in the year 1920 by Dr. Sreenivasa Padiar LM & S (Homoeo) and Dr. Madhava Padiar (M & S) sons of Sri. Krishna Padiar, who were popular private medical practitioners in Homoeopathy, who established two institutions namely "ROYAL COLLEGE OF HOMOEOPATHIC PHYSICIANS" and "THE FREE TO THE POOR DISPENSARY" at Market Road, in the heart of Cochin City as early as in 1920, to propagate Homoeopathic sysytem of Medicine in this part of the country.

Considering the increase in the number of patients approaching the Homoeopathic system of treatment with confidence and also the need for spreading the knowledge of this unique system, they started a centre for imparting training to the real aspirants of the science of Homoeopathy. There were only 3 sudents in the first batch started in 1920. This was a humble beginning of the present premier, pioneering Homoeopathic Medical College in South India with continuous recorded history. Founded in 1920 this is the 2nd oldest Homoeopathic Medical College in existence in India.

In 1976 onwards the Board of Trustees nominated by His Holiness Madathipathi of Shri Kashi Math Samsthan, Varanasi, the religious head of Gowda Saraswatha Brahmin Community, is managing this Institution. H.H.Shrimad Samyamindra Thirtha Swamiji, Madathipathi of Shri Kashi Math Samsthan is the Paramadhikari of this Institution.

The College had conducted regular classes for Homoeopathy and imparted licence of practising under the name LRCHP (Licentiate of Royal College of Homoeopathic Physicians) up to the year 1996. It was included in the Second Schedule Rule (13) of the Homoeopathy Central Council Act 1973.